There’s going to come a day

One day, when I go to check on my cat when he’s sleeping to see if he’s breathing, he’s not going to be. My cat is turning 11 years old in just 2 months. He’s skinny as bones but his heart is still all there. Me and him grew up together. He opened me up to the wonderful world of cats. 

But sadly, it’s gotten to the point where I’m so scared of him dying that I wake him up every time he’s sleeping to make sure he’s alive. Every single morning I wake up and hope today is not the day I lose my childhood cat. 

I guess he just has me in my feels because yesterday he wouldn’t eat. If anyone knows him, you know this guy loves to eat any little scrap he finds. He begs every day and night for food. But yesterday he wouldn’t even eat his treat. None of that is like him at all. Then, when I woke up this morning my mom tells me he didn’t even run downstairs to ask for food like he always does. He spent the whole night underneath my bed. After that I went down there and just started hugging him and sobbing because he’s making me scared of losing him. 

I know death is a natural process and it’s going to happen to everyone eventually, but it’s so hard for me when it comes to animals. They are so pure and deserve the absolute best.

As of right now, I have no idea what’s wrong. I just hope that today is not the day . . .

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

