A vegetarian FAQ

June 12, 2017 will mark 2 years of me making a conscious choice to cut meat out of my life and become a vegetarian. Throughout these past two years, I have received these questions a multitude amount of times and thought why not answer them here publicly for everyone. Here’s goes my vegetarian FAQ.

So you don’t eat meat? Can you eat chicken? 

Now, there are two things wrong with these questions. One, when I say I don’t eat meat, I mean I don’t eat animals. Yes, that includes chicken and fish and shrimp. Two, CAN I? Of course I could eat chicken if I wanted. You have to realize that this is my own personal choice and no one is telling me what I can and can’t eat. I CHOOSE not to based on my own personal beliefs.

Why are you a vegetarian? 

This is an extremely personal question and I’m not obligated to answer. Just know that this is my personal choice and this is how I’m choosing to live my life. It doesn’t affect or harm you in any way so stop acting like you’re entitled to know “why” this is how I’m living my life. Despite all of that, this is a great opportunity for me to educate people on the mistreatment that animals have to endure and the environmental impact that we have because of choosing to eat meat. Watch a documentary, google stuff online, look up a youtube video. The answer is right at your fingertips.

What’s the difference between a vegetarian and a vegan?

A vegetarian is someone who does not eat animals. That includes seafood, meats, and poultry. The lines between eating eggs is blurred for each vegetarian. It’s based on what you personally believe. A vegan is someone who does not consume animals or animal products. This includes dairy. A true vegan will also not use makeup brands that use animal testing or purchase goods made from animals.

Will you ever go back?

I can’t answer this for sure. Yes, 100% my life would be easier. But who am I to say that my life is worth more than an animals? I don’t know if I could live with the guilt of knowing the harm I’m causing the environment and these precious beings.

Now this one’s not a question, but it is a statement I received often. “I could never be a vegetarian, I love meat way too much.”

Where the hell does it say I hate meat? I love meat!!!! My complete and utter weakness is hot wings. I crave meat so often. You know it actually took me 4 tries to get to this point? It’s honestly a hard choice to make. I struggle every day with making a conscious choice to be better. I imagine how much easier my life would be if I wasn’t vegetarian. But to me, all of it is worth it.

Where do you get your protein from? Doesn’t meat have special protein you can’t get from plants?

You can get protein from so many other things. Beans, eggs, quinoa, etc all contain a lot of protein. And no, meat doesn’t have a special kind of protein that you can only get from it. It’s all the same thing. As long as you’re fueling your body with the nutrients it needs, it doesn’t matter where it comes from.

So you’re like really healthy then?

No. Hell no. I still eat so much junk food and over eat all the time. Just because I eat “mainly vegetables,” I guess, does not at all make me healthy. When you’re healthy, you make sure your body gets the nutrients it needs. You don’t let your body have harmful things than will only affect you in the long run. Being healthy, to me, means nurturing your body and taking care of it. So no, just because I’m a vegetarian doesn’t mean I’m healthy.

Also, one little side note. Stop shoving meat in my face and asking me if I want some as a joke. It makes me physically sick that you think its funny. I don’t understand what kind of point you’re trying to make or what kind of insecurity you have but stop letting how I live my life affect you. 

Also, if you’re interest in where and how I was feeling a year ago, here’s my blog post on it. One year today

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

