I’m not quite sure

I know that I meant to write about this, and I feel like maybe I have, but either way here it goes.

One day, a few months ago I was talking to one of my friends about a time when my family and I went through a big financial strain because my dad was laid off from his job. We had no insurance, we had to cut back, and it was overall a really stressful time. My dad eventually had to go on unemployment because he wasn’t having any luck finding a job.

Since I was 3 years old, I had been going to see the same eye doctor every single year. But this year, we couldn’t afford to go there. So we decided to go to a place down the street. Any glasses frame that I picked, my parents had to pay for them out of pocket. I could feel on a daily basis how stressed out my dad was. I picked the first frame I saw with a reasonable price tag and called it a day. What I didn’t realize is that I would become so embarrassed and so ashamed of that pair of glasses that I would wear my contacts 14 + just to avoid wearing my glasses.

On that day where I was telling my friend about how much I hate my glasses, she said something to me that completely changed everything for me. She told me instead of seeing the pair of glasses as these things that I can’t stand, remember instead what my dad had to go through to buy me the glasses. To remember that we got through the rough time and despite everything my parents still provided for me. Nothing changed me more as a person. I’m forever grateful to Felicia for impacting my life so profoundly. It’s amazing to know that such a little, insignificant moment like that can affect someone so much.

Two years later, I’m currently laying here typing out this blog post wearing the same pair of glasses. Despite the fact that I still can’t stand them, they aren’t something I’m embarrassed about anymore.

Also, wordpress just notified me that today marks one year since I joined. As of today, I have 18 followers. I want to thank all of you for continuing to support me and my rants. I’m hoping to eventually put out better quality posts. But, I do really really enjoy how raw most of my posts are. None of them are proofread, or looked over after it’s typed. It’s like my own personal diary. Idk do any of my followers have any feedback? Would you prefer I look over my posts a little bit to make things easier to understand?

One thought on “I’m not quite sure

  1. It is a very powerful thing to realize and understand what sacrifices parents make even when going through tough times. I relate to this post so much and I love that you put it out here. Be confident in your posts because this actually made me smile thinking back to my family’s own strains. That’s my feedback and you’ve got another follower.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

