The other day

I read something the other day that completely stopped me in my tracks and made me question everything. I’d been having one of those days where I felt like I can never get over my ex so I started googling ways to move on and stuff. I stumbled on a piece that listed reason WHY you can’t move on. Here’s part of the article explaining our internal images of our exes

“For years after the end of a five-year romance, a young woman described how she continued to revisit loving memories she had of her ex, the special ”bubble world” they had created together. She remembers their first Christmas together alone in their tiny studio apartment with a found tree branch for a Christmas tree and small gifts they had made for each other. Although her ex broke up with her, recollecting the feeling of closeness she found in this relationship enabled her to remain connected to the loving part of herself.”

And then it hit me. It’s not because I loved him. It’s not because I still miss him. It’s because there was one exact moment where I KNEW that I could fall in love with him. It’s the fact that he showed me that I’m capable of love. He showed me that love could be a really really great thing. And I think most of all that’s what I’ve been stuck on for so long. I’ve got the two tied up in my head. I thought for so long that he’s the one. But I really just think that he’s the one who showed me a little peak into how great love is and that I’m even capable of it at all.

Ever since that moment, it’s almost as if I can breath again. This weight has been lifted off my heart and its ready to show someone just how bright it can be.

A closed letter to you

Leave a Reply

